Skip to main content
Love Teeth Campaign 2018 is kicked off!
The theme of this year is SAY Ahh: Think Mouth, Think Health
Please stay tuned to our Facebook Page. We have different activities and games with prizes in the year.
Video clips on teeth cleaning techniques
 
 Tips for toothbrushing technique
 Flossing
 Use of super floss
 Use of an interdental brush
 

Information on Gum Disease
 
 Gum disease
 Bad breath
 Oh, no! My gums bleed when I brush�K
 Is it "hot air"? My gums are swollen and sore!
 "Black deposits" along the gum line!
 The teeth look "longer"?
 Loose teeth, difficult to chew
 

Introduction

The Oral Health Survey 2011 showed that nearly all adults in Hong Kong had daily brushing habit, however, there were more than 90% of them had half or more of their teeth covered with visible dental plaque and more than 40% of them did not have the habit of seeking regular dental checkup. The result revealed that the oral cleanliness of adults was unsatisfactory and proper use of professional dental care was overlooked.

Love Teeth Campaign

Love Teeth Campaign aims at promoting the awareness of adults in Hong Kong towards achieving desirable oral self-care complemented with appropriate use of professional dental care that includes consulting the dentist for proper toothbrushing and interdental cleaning skills to prevent different oral diseases.

Don't trust your naked eyes. Clean your teeth thoroughly.

Dental plaque is a thin layer of bacteria adhering on the tooth surfaces that is not easily detected by naked eyes. The bacteria inside the dental plaque release toxins that irritate the periodontal tissues including the gums, periodontal membrane, jaw bone, etc., leading to the development of gum disease. If you ever had red swollen gums and/or your gums bleed during brushing, these are already the symptoms of gum disease. Moreover, every time food or drinks are consumed, the bacteria in the dental plaque will metabolize the sugars in the food to produce acids. The acid demineralises the tooth structure and results in dental caries.

Love teeth Eat smart

In order to prevent tooth decay, we should eat smart. Minimize the frequency of food intake by having breakfast, lunch and dinner in sufficient quantities and snack once in-between meals only if needed. If such, there will be sufficient time for saliva to neutralize the acids produced by the dental plaque during the metabolic process and remineralize the teeth, hence, lower the chance of getting dental caries.

Effective tooth cleaning for better gum health.
Consult a dentist for proper tooth cleaning skills.

In order to prevent gum disease and tooth decay, you have to effectively remove dental plaque. Not only should you pay attention to your toothbrushing skill, but also use appropriate tooth cleaning tools (dental floss and/or interdental brush) to clean the adjacent tooth surfaces. You can consult your dentist for proper tooth cleaning skills which best suit your oral conditions during regular dental check-up.

It all starts here. Healthy mouth. Healthy body.

Good oral health is crucial to overall health. Tooth decay, periodontal disease and many other systemic diseases (heart disease, diabetes mellitus and cancer etc.) share a number of common behavioral risk factors. They include lack of personal hygiene, smoking and unhealthy dietary habit etc., hence, establishing a good oral health habit and lifestyle not only give you a healthy mouth, but also a healthy body.

To learn more about gum disease and effective tooth cleaning methods, please visit "R Love Teeth HK" Facebook.

Promotion activities
 Promotional poster
Love Teeth Campaign
 
Explanation of WCAG 2.0 Level Double-A Conformance

跳至主要內容
2018年「3.20 世界口腔健康日」的主題是「記得護理口腔 身體更加健康」
清潔牙齒方法的示範短片
 
 刷牙技巧小貼士
 使用牙線
 使用特效牙線
 使用牙縫刷
 

牙周病知多點
 
 牙周病
 口臭
 嘩!刷牙時牙肉流血
 牙肉腫痛或唔舒服,係唔係因為「熱氣」?
 『牙腳』變黑
 牙齒「長」了
 牙齒好鬆,食嘢冇力
 

前言

2011年口腔健康調查報告顯示,香港大部分成年人都有每天刷牙兩次的習慣,但仍有逾9成的成年人有半數或以上的牙齒有可見的牙菌膜覆蓋,另外,有超過四成的成年人沒有定期檢查口腔的習慣。由此可見大部分成年人都未能做好個人的口腔護理和忽略專業口腔護理的重要。

全港愛牙運動

全港愛牙運動致力推廣香港成年人關注及做好個人口腔的護理,並且定期向牙科醫生尋求專業口腔護理包括向其請教適合個人口腔需要的刷牙和清潔牙齒鄰面的方法,藉以預防各種口腔疾病。

眼見乾淨未為真 清潔牙齒要細心

覆蓋在牙齒表面的牙菌膜是一層難以用肉眼看見的細菌薄膜,裏面的細菌會分泌毒素,刺激牙周組織,例如牙齦(肉)、牙周膜和牙槽骨等,引致牙周病。如果你曾經有牙齦紅腫及/或刷牙時牙齦流血,其實這已是牙周病的徵狀。所以,不要覺得牙齒看似乾淨,清潔時便掉以輕心。容易積藏牙菌膜的地方,例如牙齦邊緣、牙齒鄰面等就更加要仔細清潔。

愛牙識食男女

此外,每次吃喝時,牙菌膜的細菌會分解食物中的糖分,產生酸素。酸素會引致牙齒組織的礦物質流失,形成蛀牙。要預防蛀牙,無論男士或女士都要識飲識食,減少每天的吃喝次數,盡量在早、午,晚三餐吃足夠的分量。如果有需要,兩餐之間最多只吃一次茶點,這樣唾液便有足夠時間中和細菌在分解食物時所產生的酸素和補充牙齒流失的礦物質,減低蛀牙的機會。

牙肉健康 全靠潔齒有妙方
潔齒妙方 請教牙醫最恰當


有效地清除牙菌膜是預防牙周病和蛀牙的好方法。所以,除了每天早晚用含氟化物牙膏刷牙外,還要有良好的刷牙技巧及使用適當工具,例如牙線及/或牙縫刷等,徹底清潔每一個牙齒表面。要掌握良好的潔齒方法及技巧,你可以在定期檢查牙齒的時候,請教牙科醫生。定期檢查牙齒不但可以讓牙科醫生及早發現口腔的疾病並且提供適時適切的口腔護理,還可以讓他按你的個人口腔提供潔齒指導。

健康體魄由「齒」起

良好的口腔健康對整體健康至為重要。蛀牙、牙周病和很多身體系統性疾病(心臟病、糖尿病和肺癌等)有著不少共同的行為風險因素。這些包括欠缺個人衞生、吸煙和不健康的飲食習慣等等,因此建立良好的口腔健康的習慣和生活方式,不但可以促進口腔健康,還可以改善個人身體健康。

想進一步瞭解牙周病和有效的清潔牙齒方法,請即登入“愛牙Love Teeth HK”Facebook專頁。

宣傳活動
 宣傳海報
全港愛牙運動
2A 無障礙說明