Floss coating

Waxed floss is coated with wax which makes it easier for the floss to slide into the interdental spaces.
Photograph of a few boxes of waxed floss.

Mint flavoured floss gives a feeling of freshness.
Photograph of a few boxes of mint flavoured floss.

Fluoride coated floss is intended to prevent tooth decay from occurring on the adjacent tooth surfaces, but its effectiveness has not yet been proven.
 Photograph of two boxes of fluoride coated floss.

Shape of floss

Flattened floss is designed to increase the contact surface with the tooth.
Photograph of a piece of flattened floss.

Ultra floss is spongy and soft.
Photograph of a piece of ultra floss.

Round floss is relatively thinner.
 Photograph of a piece of thin round floss.

Superfloss contains segments of stiffened-end threader, spongy floss and regular floss. Stiffened-end threader can make it easier for us to slide the superfloss through the gap between the teeth and fixed orthodontic appliances. Spongy floss cleans around the appliances and between wide spaces or to floss underneath the bridge. Regular floss removes plaque from the adjacent tooth surfaces.
Photograph of a piece of superfloss.

Please refer to sections Cleaning of fixed orthodontic appliance and Cleaning of fixed bridge for method of using Superfloss

Floss holder (Dental floss stick)

Floss holder is a supplementary tool for flossing. It is especially suitable for parents or caregivers to help children or individuals with special care needs to clean the adjacent surfaces of their teeth. Among all different types of floss holders, disposable floss holders are more commonly found in the market. Because floss holders come in a variety of designs, you should seek advice from the dentist before making a purchase.

Dental floss that suits you

You can choose a kind of dental floss or floss holder that is suitable for you according to your personal need or preference. Those who are wearing fixed orthodontic appliance or fixed bridge can use superfloss. In addition to toothbrushing, if used correctly, any kind of dental floss will effectively remove dental plaque and reduce gingivitis. The use of dental floss will not widen the gaps between your teeth. There is no need to worry about it.

Last revision date: 17 August 2016

以塗上的物質區分

塗上蠟的牙線比較滑溜,易於滑進牙縫。
圖中所見是幾款有蠟牙線

含薄荷味牙線讓使用者感覺清新。
圖中所見是幾款含薄荷味牙線

含氟化物牙線的作用是預防牙齒鄰面蛀壞。不過,功效如何則還未得到證實。
圖中所見是兩款含氟化物牙線

以線身形狀區別

扁平牙線的作用是增加牙線與牙齒的接觸面。
圖中所見是一條扁平的牙線

彈性牙線質地像海綿,比較柔軟。
圖中所見是一條有彈性的牙線

圓形牙線比較幼。
圖中所見是一條線身幼細的牙線

特效牙線分為較硬部分、纖維部分和普通牙線部分。較硬部分可讓特效牙線易於穿入牙齒與固定矯齒器之間的位置或穿入牙橋底部。纖維部分用於清潔戴上矯齒器的牙齒、牙縫較寬的地方或牙橋底部。普通牙線部分則用以清除牙齒鄰面的牙菌膜。
圖中所見是一條特效牙線

使用特效牙線方法請參考清潔固定矯齒器清潔固定假牙部分

牙線棒(牙線叉)

牙線棒是一種輔助使用牙線的功具,尤其適合家長或護理者幫孩子或有特殊照顧需要人士清潔牙齒鄰面時使用。市面上售賣的牙線棒,以即棄型牙線棒較為常見。由於牙線棒的款式各有不同,購買前應諮詢牙科醫生的意見。

適合你的牙線

你可按個人需要或喜好選擇牙線或牙線棒,配戴固定假牙或固定矯齒器人士可選用特效牙線。其實只要用得其法,並配合正確的刷牙方法,任何種類的牙線都能有效清除牙菌膜及預防牙齦炎。使用牙線是不會令牙齒變疏的,可放心使用。

修訂日期:2016年8月17日