Depending on the active ingredients they contain, different types of mouthwash can be used to prevent tooth decay, reduce formation of dental plaque and gingivitis (inflammation of the gums) or reduce tooth sensitivity.

Photograph of a few brands of mouthwashes with different functions.

Fluoride mouthwash

This kind of mouthwash contains fluoride compounds such as 0.05% Sodium Fluoride (NaF) which provides extra fluoride to the people who need it. Using it daily may give additional protection against tooth decay.
 Photograph of a bottle of fluoride-containing mouthwash.

Anti-plaque mouthwash

It inhibits plaque accumulation, thus reducing the chance of getting gingivitis (inflammation of the gums). The active ingredients include Chlorhexidine Gluconate, Triclosan, Thymol, Cetylpyridinium Chloride (CPC), etc. However, long term use of mouthwash may stain the teeth and alter taste sensation. You are advised to consult your dentist before use. Correct usage of suitable mouthwash under professional advice is recommended.
Photograph of a few bottles of anti-plaque mouthwashes in different brands.

Desensitizing mouthwash

This kind of mouthwash contains active ingredients such as Arginine which claims to seal the dentinal tubules at the sensitive site, thus reducing tooth sensitivity. You should always consult your dentist whether you need the desensitizing mouthwash and follow his/her instruction on how to use it.
Photograph of a bottle of desensitizing mouthwash.

Last revision date: 18 January 2012

漱口水的作用要視乎其所含成分而定。其作用包括預防蛀牙、減少牙菌膜、減低牙齦發炎或減低牙齒敏感的程度。

圖中所見是幾瓶不同品牌或不同作用的漱口水

有預防蛀牙功效的漱口水

這類漱口水含氟化物,如0.05%氟化鈉 ( Sodium Fluoride),能為有需要的人士提供額外的氟化物。每天使用可為牙齒提供額外的保護,有效防止蛀牙。
圖中所見是一瓶含氟化物漱口水

有預防牙菌膜功效的漱口水

這種漱口水有助防止牙菌膜積聚,亦有助減低牙齦發炎的機會。其主要成分包括氯己定 (Chlorhexidine Gluconate),三氯沙 (Triclosan),百里酚(Thymol),西吡氯銨 (Cetylpyridinium Chloride) 等。不過,長期使用這類漱口水可能會令牙漬沉積於牙齒表面及影響味覺。因此,使用前應先徵詢牙科醫生的意見,並在牙科醫生的指導下使用。
圖中所見是幾瓶不同品牌,並有防牙菌膜功效的漱口水

防敏感漱口水

這種漱口水的主要化學成分如精胺酸 (Arginine) 據稱能封閉象牙質的微細管道,減低牙齒敏感的程度。選購防敏感漱口水前,應先徵詢牙科醫生的意見,看看是否有此需要,如果有需要,就須遵照牙科醫生的指示使用。
圖中所見是一瓶有防敏感功效的漱口水

修訂日期:2013年1月18日