Denture Adhesive

Function

Denture adhesive is used to keep dentures in place during normal daily activity. It is applied to the fitting surface of dentures. In the mouth, with the presence of water from saliva, the material swells and creates an adhesion between the denture and the gum that improves the retention and stability on denture wearing.

Active ingredients

The main ingredients in denture adhesives are polymethyl vinyl ether-malevich anhydrade (PVM-MA) copolymer and sodium carboxymethylcellulose (CMC). Some denture adhesive products contain zinc to provide greater strength of adhesion.

Is it suitable for you?

Usually a well made denture is retentive enough without the use of any adhesives. However, the dentist may recommend using it in some cases:

Points to note for using denture adhesive

1.Ask for dentist's advices before use. Any trial to use denture adhesives without knowing the cause of loose denture may result in more bone resorption, and make it harder to manufacture another good denture or even repair the old one.

2.Choose a zinc-free denture adhesive, because chronic excessive intake of zinc can adversely affect general health.

3.Refer to the notes of application before use, and remember to:

4.Avoid very hot liquids which may dissolve the denture adhesive material.

5.See dentist regularly for checking up your teeth and adjusting the denture.

Last revision date: 18 January 2012

假牙黏着剂

功用

假牙黏着剂是用以固定假牙托在口腔的位置,使它在配戴者的日常活动中不致松脱。假牙黏着剂是放在假牙托的底部,配戴假牙时,黏着剂会因吸收唾液中的水分而膨胀,把假牙托黏附着牙龈,改善假牙托在配戴时的稳定性。

主要成分

假牙黏着剂常见的主要成分是聚甲基丙乙烯基醚顺丁烯酐(polymethyl vinyl ether-malevich anhydrade copolymer) 和钠羧甲基纤维素(sodium carboxymethylcellulose),有些假牙黏着剂含有锌的成分以增强黏附度。

是否适合你?

一般来说,一副合戴又质素良好的假牙托是不需要使用假牙黏着剂的,除非牙科医生根据某些情况下建议使用:

使用假牙黏着剂的注意事项

1.使用前应先咨询牙科医生的意见。如果不确定假牙托松动的原因而胡乱用假牙黏着剂,反而有机会加剧牙槽骨萎缩,以致重新镶配假牙托时更加困难。

2.选择不含锌(Zinc)成分的假牙黏着剂,因长期过量吸收锌会影响身体健康。

3.使用前应参考产品的使用说明,并要注意:

4.避免饮用过热汤水,以防黏着剂溶解导致假牙托松脱。

5.定期往见牙科医生接受检查及调整假牙托。

修订日期:2013年1月18日